img_20161123_165941003One thing I set out to do a year ago is talk about tools I use and why I like them. This time of year the bulky machine commands ample space in between my living room and kitchen. It’s a wonderful machine and I was fortunate to locate a ribber attachment for it about a year after purchasing.  I have had others with nice bells and whistles, but frankly, this Silver Reed is, well, SIMPLE-Easy to use, reliable and very, very forgiving.

It’s not exactly all Siver Reed …The Ribber is an Empisal SR-120

img_20161123_170125719The machine is known as the Kantan Bulky, 120 needles.

Also known as the Singer BULKY 8. As it is an 8mm gauge machine. The BULKY 8 came in 2 versions, 120 and 140 needle beds.

I haven’t found much else on these. I believe there is an intarsia carriage, a garter bar, and a really nice travel case, but I have yet to locate them.  It came with great tools, however you need to experiment with the techniques, as the manuals are very basic.img_20161123_170317472

I’ve owned The Ultimate Sweater Machine, which is also an 8mm. The needles are the same which is great!! I also had variants of Toyota/Elna/Singer BULKY 9mm machines, but for me I love the simplicity of my SK-120. I always know what’s going on with this machine. The parts are uncomplicated. No chaotic punch pattern settings, internal gears or springs to wreck your day and make you pull your hair out!!  I liked the capability of those machines, but at the end of the day, I just want Simple.😉

The sponge bar….unlike all the others. It’s a 3/16 u-channel. Original had foam. I replace the foam with fabric folded in half, held in place with fabric covered rope trim….not sure what it’s called. This is really the only drawback!!

 

 

 

